News Search

145th CES Receives Three National Awards

  • Published
  • By Lt. Col. Rose S Dunlap
  • 145th Airlift Wing
The 145th Civil Engineer Squadron was presented three 2012 Air National Guard Civil Engineer Awards in a ceremony held at the N.C. Air National Guard in Charlotte, May 16, 2013. Making the presentations were Col. Peter Sartori, Director of Installations and Mission Support and the Civil Engineer for the Air National Guard at Joint Base Andrews, Maryland, and Chief Master Sergeant Dan Eakman, Air National Guard Civil Engineer Career Field Manager.

Col Roger E. Williams Jr., 145th Airlift Wing Commander, gave brief remarks at the start of the ceremony, congratulating the Squadron for being the nation's best CES unit. He also stated that this is no small accomplishment and added that "the work of this squadron is apparent as you drive around the base." He concluded with a note of "Congratulations, job well done!"

In Col. Sartori's remarks, he added congratulations to the squadron on being the "best of the best." He stated that this was not a statement to be politically correct, but a fact that "the 145 CES is the best, the proven best." Sartori lauded the unit's readiness management program and its training, mission support as well as their involvement in the community.
"Even though I am active duty, I really enjoy working with the Guard. I am really proud to serve with the Guard," stated Col Sartori.

The ceremony began with the presentation of the Colonel Frederick J. Reimer Award presented to Senior Master Sgt. Kenneth Jacobsen, superintendent of the 145th CES Emergency Management Flight, accepting on behalf of the Emergency Management Flight. This annual award honors the lifetime accomplishments of retired Air Force Colonel Frederick J. Reimer and recognizes the Air Force Civil Engineer Readiness and Emergency Management Flight that best demonstrates exemplary performance in support of the engineer readiness mission.

Also presented was the William L. Denneke Award. This annual award honors the lifetime accomplishments of retired Colonel William L. Denneke. Along with the traveling trophy is the permanent plaque presented to the award winner. It is presented to the top Air National Guard Civil Engineer unit based upon Installation and Expeditionary Engineering; Emergency Services; Environmental Leadership and Community Support. Chief Tom Hunsucker, Regional Training Site Enlisted Manager accepted this award on behalf of the squadron.
The 145th CES will go on to compete for the Air Force Outstanding CE unit Award in the Reserve Component Category. This is the third time that the 145th CES has achieved this recognition. The award was earned in 1984 and also in 1992.

The third and final award to be presented during this ceremony was the Society of American Military Engineers Curtain Award. This annual award named for former Air Force Director of Civil Engineering from 1963 to 1968, Major General Robert H. Curtain and is presented to the Outstanding Air Force Civil Engineering Squadron in the categories of large unit, small unit and Air Reserve Component. Lt Col Greg Walters, 145 CES Commander accepted this award for the squadron.

Walters thanked everyone for attending the ceremony, including his wife of 22 years. He said that, "CES works to answer the NGB mail, and A7 works to get them the resources to execute."

Walters thanked 145 AW leaders for the great leadership and support they've shown the squadron. "We have great Wing leadership and an awesome Wing family," stated Lt. Col. Walter, "but I know it takes work on their part not to stay frustrated at CE with how long our processes seem to take sometimes."

Walters added, "I have been blessed with a solid core of Officers and Senior NCOs who make it their business to build battle ready engineers."

Walters also gave a very special thank you to the unsung heroes, the State Employees and the full time staff. "These are the guys who come out at 6 am to fix a security fence, or stay after work at 5 pm to fix a waterline. Without them, the base wouldn't look as good as it does. This award is for you. I thank you all."